Skip to content

Icedrive

File sharing · United Kingdom
Founded 2019 · icedrive.net

UK/Gibraltar cloud storage (ID Cloud Services Ltd), opt-in Twofish client-side encryption, lifetime plans; UK/DE/US data centres, no region pinning.

Icedrive offers EU hosting in the United Kingdom, but a US parent or sub-processor leaves material CLOUD Act exposure. It is listed under File sharing.

Assessment notes

Icedrive is operated by ID Cloud Services Ltd, a UK micro-company (HQ Unit 12 J-Shed, Kings Road, Swansea, Wales; one source also cites a Gibraltar registration) founded in 2019 and effectively a one-person operation led by James Bressington; the product offers genuine client-side Twofish encryption but only on an opt-in dedicated encrypted folder, not the whole account, and runs a distributed storage architecture across data centres in the UK, Germany AND the USA with no customer region selection, meaning EU buyers cannot keep data out of US infrastructure; combined with UK-post-Brexit ownership, material CLOUD Act exposure, no public DPA or sub-processors list, and no certifications, the signal mix is the weakest in this category.

Findings

CLOUD Act
Ownership
Sub-processors
— not disclosed

Verified signals

Jurisdiction
  • EU / adequacy hosting: Yes
  • EU / adequacy operator: Yes
  • No US CLOUD Act exposure: No
Transparency
  • Public DPA: No
  • Sub-processors disclosed: No
  • Open-source clients: No
  • Third-party certification: No
Jump to

About Icedrive

Icedrive is a consumer-and-prosumer cloud storage service operated by ID Cloud Services Ltd, a UK micro-company based in Swansea, Wales (one secondary source additionally cites a Gibraltar company registration; the discrepancy is unresolved and flagged below). Founded in 2019, it is effectively a one-person operation led by CEO James Bressington, which is unusual for a directory of procurement-grade vendors and is itself a risk signal: there is no team depth, no funding disclosed, and no public corporate filings surfaced at audit.

The product's headline differentiator is encryption. Icedrive is the only mainstream cloud storage service to use the Twofish algorithm, and it offers true zero-knowledge client-side encryption: files and even file/folder names are encrypted on the device with a 256-bit key that never reaches Icedrive's servers. The important caveat for buyers: this applies only to files placed in a dedicated encrypted folder, not to the whole account. Anything stored outside that folder is not zero-knowledge.

For an EU-sovereignty audit Icedrive is weak. Storage is distributed across data centres in the UK, Germany and the United States with N+2 redundancy, and customers cannot choose their storage region, so EU data can and does land on US infrastructure, which is material CLOUD Act exposure regardless of the client-side encryption available on the opt-in folder. There is no public DPA, no sub-processors list, and no certifications. The vendor's own site (icedrive.net) returned HTTP 403 to automated fetching at audit, so several fields rely on secondary sources.

Pricing is competitive and lifetime-friendly: a 10 GB free tier, Pro plans from ~$5.99/month for 2 TB, and one-time lifetime plans starting around $389 for 2 TB with $199/1 TB and $449/5 TB add-on "stacks"; the lifetime model is the main reason Icedrive appears on best-of lists. Best fit: privacy-curious individuals who will discipline themselves to use the encrypted folder and who value lifetime pricing over EU data residency. Procurement-grade EU buyers should prefer Koofr (SI/DE), Internxt (ES), Tresorit (CH/HU) or Proton Drive (CH), all covered elsewhere on this directory.

Sub-processor map · not disclosed

Vendor does not publish a sub-processors list. Schrems II compliance and CLOUD Act exposure cannot be independently verified without it.

Frameworks & certifications · none listed

We checked the vendor's website and standard certification body registries. No active certifications found at the time of last audit (2026-08-26).

Capability matrix

Table 1Capabilities of Icedrive

Free storage 10 GB
Paid storage (from) 150 GB
Max file size Unlimited
Photo sync Yes
File versioning Yes
Link sharing Yes
Platforms iOS macOS Windows Android Linux Web

Integration & access

REST API No
SSO (SAML / OIDC) No

Compliance & governance

Audit log No
Self-host / on-prem option No

Pricing & tiers

from €6/mo
Freemium
View pricing page

Public documents

Vendor does not publish a public DPA. Without a publicly accessible Data Processing Addendum, small EU customers cannot self-serve the processor agreement. This is recorded as no public DPA (see How we assess).
Vendor does not publish a sub-processors list. Schrems II compliance and CLOUD Act exposure cannot be independently verified without it.
  • Data Processing Addendum (DPA)
    — missing
    missing
  • Sub-processors list
    — missing
    missing

Alternatives in this category

  • Switzerland · €4/mo
    EU-Based
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: No
  • Switzerland · €10/mo
    EU-Hosted
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: No
  • Switzerland · €4/mo
    EU-Sovereign
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: No Open source: No