Skip to content

Sage Accounting

UK-public accounting incumbent (FTSE 100, Newcastle, est. 1981); Sage Accounting cloud product for SMB.

Sage Accounting offers EU hosting in the United Kingdom, but a US parent or sub-processor leaves material CLOUD Act exposure. It is listed under Accounting.

Assessment notes

Sage Group plc (Newcastle UK, founded 1981, FTSE 100, LSE: SGE) is one of Europe's largest software companies: UK-public, no US parent, no US PE, ISO 27001 certified, and UK-post-Brexit places it in ownership_signal: other rather than eu_owned. The clean ownership position does not carry over to the processor chain, which is what CLOUD Act exposure actually measures. Sage's own published sub-processor list puts Sage Business Cloud Accounting on Amazon Web Services (a US-owned hyperscaler holding customer data at rest) alongside Twilio, Postmark and Yodlee, the US bank-data aggregator that powers its bank feeds. Core accounting and banking data therefore flows through US-owned services, which is material under the rubric and a 3/5. Sage also publishes no hosting region for the product, and both its pricing page and its DPA sit behind a site-wide bot block that defeats self-serve verification.

Findings

CLOUD Act
Ownership
Sub-processors
— not disclosed

Verified signals

Jurisdiction
  • EU / adequacy hosting: Yes
  • EU / adequacy operator: Yes
  • No US CLOUD Act exposure: No
Transparency
  • Public DPA: Yes
  • Sub-processors disclosed: Yes
  • Open-source clients: No
  • Third-party certification: Yes
Jump to

About Sage Accounting

Sage Group plc (Newcastle upon Tyne, founded 1981) is one of the largest software companies in Europe: listed on the London Stock Exchange (LSE: SGE, FTSE 100), no US parent, no US-PE control. The SMB cloud product line Sage Accounting (also Sage Business Cloud Accounting, formerly Sage One) targets sole traders through small businesses with pricing from ~£12/mo (~€14). ISO 27001 certified. The wider Sage portfolio includes Sage HR (sage.hr, see separate listing), Sage Intacct (mid-market), Sage 50, and Sage 200. Post-Brexit UK jurisdiction places it in ownership_signal: other per the directory's rubric. The ownership chain is clean of US capital, but the processor chain is not: Sage's own published sub-processor list puts Sage Business Cloud Accounting on Amazon Web Services alongside Twilio, Postmark and Yodlee, the US bank-data aggregator behind its bank feeds, so core accounting and banking data flows through US-owned services and exposure is recorded as Material.

Sub-processor map · not disclosed

Vendor does not publish a sub-processors list. Schrems II compliance and CLOUD Act exposure cannot be independently verified without it.

Frameworks & certifications

ISO/IEC 27001
Active

Capability matrix

Table 1Capabilities of Sage Accounting

Invoicing Yes
E-invoicing No
Bank sync Yes
VAT returns Yes
Payroll Yes
Multi-currency Yes
Expense management Yes
Inventory Yes
Accountant access Yes

Integration & access

REST API Yes
SSO (SAML / OIDC) Yes

Compliance & governance

Audit log Yes
Self-host / on-prem option Yes

Pricing & tiers

from €16/mo
Paid
View pricing page

Public documents

  • Data Processing Addendum (DPA)
    www.sage.com/en-gb…
    Open
  • Sub-processors list
    www.sage.com/en-gb…
    Open

Alternatives in this category

  • Norway · €9/mo
    EU-Hosted
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: No
  • Norway · €20/mo
    EU-Hosted
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: No
  • Germany · €7.90/mo
    EU-Hosted
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: No