Skip to content

Volt

Payments · United Kingdom
Founded 2019 · volt.io

London-based open-banking A2A real-time payments (Volt Technologies, 2019), FCA EMI, 2,500 banks across 31 territories; US-VC-led.

Volt offers EU hosting in the United Kingdom, but a US parent or sub-processor leaves material CLOUD Act exposure. It is listed under Payments.

Assessment notes

Volt Technologies Holdings Limited (London, 42 Berners Street; founded 2019) is an open-banking real-time A2A payments specialist with an FCA EMI licence, 2,500 connected banks across 31 territories and 618M bank accounts reachable, but the cap table is led by IVP (Institutional Venture Partners, Menlo Park, US, Series B June 2023 $60M at $350M+ valuation) alongside EQT Ventures (SE), CommerzVentures (DE), Augmentum Fintech (UK), and Fuel Ventures (UK); UK post-Brexit jurisdiction + US-VC lead results in ownership_signal: eu_hq_us_funded, cloud_act_exposure: material; no public DPA, sub-processors list, or hosting provider disclosed at audit.

Findings

CLOUD Act
Ownership
Sub-processors
— not disclosed

Verified signals

Jurisdiction
  • EU / adequacy hosting: Yes
  • EU / adequacy operator: Yes
  • No US CLOUD Act exposure: No
Transparency
  • Public DPA: No
  • Sub-processors disclosed: No
  • Open-source clients: No
  • Third-party certification: No
Jump to

About Volt

Volt is a London-based open-banking real-time payments specialist operated by Volt Technologies Holdings Limited (42 Berners Street, London W1T 3ND) and founded in 2019. The product is built around Pay-by-Bank instant payments, payouts, refunds, and account verification, connecting 2,500+ banks across 31 territories on three continents and reaching 618M bank accounts. Volt holds a UK FCA Electronic Money Institution licence enabling standalone virtual-account products. Notable partnerships include Worldpay (global real-time-payments deal), Shopify (Volt was Shopify's first open-banking provider), Farfetch, Primer, Kinguin, Solidgate, and AsiaBill; target industries cover retail / e-commerce, travel, wealthtech, iGaming, and crypto.

For an EU-sovereignty audit Volt sits in the eu_hq_us_funded tier. The Series B in June 2023 raised US$60M at a US$350M+ valuation led by IVP (Institutional Venture Partners), a Menlo Park, California-headquartered Silicon Valley venture firm, alongside European participation from EQT Ventures (Sweden), CommerzVentures (Germany), Augmentum Fintech (UK), and Fuel Ventures (UK). The US-VC lead at Series B is the defining ownership-tier signal under our strict-ownership stance. The privacy policy names Volt Technologies Holdings Limited as data controller but does not publish a named sub-processors list, hosting provider, or explicit US-transfer mechanism on accessible public pages: gaps for procurement-grade buyers. UK post-Brexit jurisdiction with adequacy decision keeps EU-UK transfers legally clean.

Pricing is enterprise / volume-negotiated; no public per-transaction tier applies. Best fit: mid-market and enterprise retailers wanting a Pay-by-Bank rail as a Stripe / Plaid alternative, particularly for high-AOV industries (travel, iGaming, crypto). Procurement-grade EU-only buyers should prefer Trustly (SE, Swedish PI licence, though also material under strict stance) or look at open-banking-native alternatives from EU-controlled providers such as Tink (acquired by Visa, US, flagged) or build on top of Adyen / Worldline (Euronext-listed EU acquirers).

Sub-processor map · not disclosed

Vendor does not publish a sub-processors list. Schrems II compliance and CLOUD Act exposure cannot be independently verified without it.

Frameworks & certifications · none listed

We checked the vendor's website and standard certification body registries. No active certifications found at the time of last audit (2026-08-26).

Capability matrix

Table 1Capabilities of Volt

Card payments No
SEPA Direct Debit No
Buy now, pay later No
Open banking (A2A) Yes
Recurring / subscriptions Yes
Payment links No
In-person / POS No
Marketplace / split No

Integration & access

REST API Yes
SSO (SAML / OIDC) Yes

Compliance & governance

Audit log Yes
Self-host / on-prem option No

Pricing & tiers

Custom pricing

Contact vendor for tier or volume pricing.

View pricing page

Public documents

Vendor does not publish a public DPA. Without a publicly accessible Data Processing Addendum, small EU customers cannot self-serve the processor agreement. This is recorded as no public DPA (see How we assess).
Vendor does not publish a sub-processors list. Schrems II compliance and CLOUD Act exposure cannot be independently verified without it.
  • Data Processing Addendum (DPA)
    — missing
    missing
  • Sub-processors list
    — missing
    missing
  • Terms of Service
    www.volt.io/legal…
    Open

Alternatives in this category

  • Netherlands
    EU-Hosted
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: No
  • France
    EU-Hosted
    Public DPA: No Sub-processors: No Open source: No
  • Norway
    EU-Based
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: No