Skip to content

Olvid

Video conferencing · France
Founded 2019 · olvid.io

French E2EE messenger (Olvid SAS, Paris, founded 2019), ANSSI CSPN certified, mandated for French government ministers; no phone number/identifier, content + metadata encrypted.

Olvid is a European service hosted in France, with at most minor, transient US exposure under the CLOUD Act. It is listed under Video conferencing.

Assessment notes

Olvid SAS (26 rue Vignon, 75009 Paris; SIREN 850 667 171; founded 2019 by four founders incl. two cryptography PhDs) is the only messaging app certified ANSSI CSPN (iOS 2020, Android 2021, audited by Synacktiv with public reports) and was mandated by the French Prime Minister's Nov 2023 circular for government ministers and cabinets, replacing WhatsApp/Signal/Telegram from Dec 2023. Both message content and metadata are end-to-end encrypted; no phone number, email or identifier is required, and Olvid's servers cannot determine who talks to whom, a stronger metadata posture than Signal or WhatsApp. EU-owned French SAS, founder-controlled, no US capital on record; open source (AGPL-3.0) including the server. The one gap that holds this below a 5: core infrastructure runs on AWS (a US provider), so cloud_act_exposure: minor applies at the host level even though the zero-knowledge design means the host never sees plaintext or metadata; there is also no standalone published DPA/sub-processor page. No SecNumCloud: Olvid argues it is less relevant for a zero-knowledge service.

Findings

CLOUD Act
Ownership
Sub-processors
— not disclosed

Verified signals

Jurisdiction
  • EU / adequacy hosting: Yes
  • EU / adequacy operator: Yes
  • No US CLOUD Act exposure: Not assessed
Transparency
  • Public DPA: No
  • Sub-processors disclosed: No
  • Open-source clients: Yes
  • Third-party certification: No
Jump to

About Olvid

Olvid is a French end-to-end encrypted messaging application developed by Olvid SAS (26 rue Vignon, 75009 Paris; SIREN 850 667 171), founded in 2019 by a four-person team including two PhD cryptographers, Thomas Baignères (CEO) and Matthieu Finiasz (CTO). It is best known as the only messenger to hold France's ANSSI CSPN (Certification de Sécurité de Premier Niveau), obtained for iOS in 2020 and Android in 2021 following technical audits by Synacktiv, whose evaluation reports are published openly, and as the messenger mandated by the French Prime Minister in a November 2023 circular for ministers and ministerial cabinets, replacing WhatsApp, Signal and Telegram from December 2023.

The architecture is unusual even among privacy messengers. Olvid requires no phone number, no email, and no identifier of any kind: users connect by exchanging cryptographic identities (typically a QR-code scan or invitation link), and Olvid maintains no central directory of users. Both the content and the metadata of every message are end-to-end encrypted, using a custom protocol with forward secrecy via single-use ephemeral keys (formally validated academically by Michel Abdalla, ENS/CNRS). Because the server holds no decryptable data and plays no role in the security model, it cannot determine who is communicating with whom, closing the metadata gap that even Signal leaves partially open. The clients and the message-distribution server are open source on GitHub under AGPL-3.0.

The product is freemium and three-tier. Free covers all core consumer messaging (unlimited messages, attachments, groups, ephemeral messages, multi-profile, Olvid Web, inbound calls) on iOS, Android, Windows and Linux. Business (€9.90/user/month, billed annually) adds outbound calls, multi-device and license management. Enterprise (€9.90/user/month plus a flat annual platform fee) adds a Management Console, SSO, central user/group management, instant revocation, MDM deployment and Olvid Bots. There is no self-hosted/on-prem edition. The principal sovereignty caveat for a strict procurement reviewer is that the backend runs on AWS (a US provider), so US CLOUD Act jurisdiction reaches the infrastructure layer even though the zero-knowledge design means the host never sees message content or metadata. Best fit: French and EU public-sector buyers and regulated organisations that want a government-grade, ANSSI-certified WhatsApp/Signal replacement with the strongest available metadata privacy; privacy-conscious individuals who want a messenger with no identifier at all.

Sub-processor map · not disclosed

Vendor does not publish a sub-processors list. Schrems II compliance and CLOUD Act exposure cannot be independently verified without it.

Frameworks & certifications · none listed

We checked the vendor's website and standard certification body registries. No active certifications found at the time of last audit (2026-06-05).

Capability matrix

Table 1Capabilities of Olvid

Self-hostable No
Max participants 3 participants
End-to-end encryption Yes

Integration & access

REST API Yes
SSO (SAML / OIDC) Yes

Compliance & governance

Audit log No
Self-host / on-prem option No

Pricing & tiers

from €10/mo
Freemium
View pricing page

Public documents

Vendor does not publish a public DPA. Without a publicly accessible Data Processing Addendum, small EU customers cannot self-serve the processor agreement. This is recorded as no public DPA (see How we assess).
Vendor does not publish a sub-processors list. Schrems II compliance and CLOUD Act exposure cannot be independently verified without it.
  • Data Processing Addendum (DPA)
    — missing
    missing
  • Sub-processors list
    — missing
    missing
  • Terms of Service
    olvid.io/terms…
    Open

Alternatives in this category

  • United Kingdom
    EU-Hosted
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: Yes
  • Switzerland
    EU-Sovereign
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: No
  • Norway
    EU-Hosted
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: No