Skip to content

Lemonway

Payments · France
Founded 2007 · lemonway.com

Paris-based ACPR-licensed pan-European marketplace payment institution (since 2007), €10.5B of flows handled in 2024, 1,200 platform clients.

Lemonway is a European service hosted in France, with at most minor, transient US exposure under the CLOUD Act. It is listed under Payments.

Assessment notes

Lemonway (Paris, founded 2007) is an ACPR-licensed Payment Institution (approval number 16568, licensed since 2012) with European passporting in 29 countries, reporting €10.5B of flows handled in 2024 across 19.1M transactions for 1,200 marketplace and platform clients in 15+ countries (SNCF Connect, Decathlon, Eiffage, ArcelorMittal); the cap table is fully European (Breega FR + Speedinvest AT + Toscafund UK) and the partnership with Société Générale for B2B marketplaces adds further EU banking anchoring: ownership_signal: eu_owned, cloud_act_exposure: minor; however Lemonway does not publish a standalone DPA (data-processing obligations are embedded within the general T&Cs) meaning EU buyers cannot self-serve the DPA artefact, and the hosting provider is not publicly disclosed.

Findings

CLOUD Act
Ownership
Sub-processors
— not disclosed

Verified signals

Jurisdiction
  • EU / adequacy hosting: Yes
  • EU / adequacy operator: Yes
  • No US CLOUD Act exposure: Not assessed
Transparency
  • Public DPA: No
  • Sub-processors disclosed: No
  • Open-source clients: No
  • Third-party certification: No
Jump to

About Lemonway

Lemonway is a Paris-headquartered marketplace-payments specialist founded in 2007 by Sébastien Burlet and Damien Guermonprez. Operating as a French ACPR-licensed Payment Institution (approval number 16568, since 2012) with European passporting across 29 countries, Lemonway directly competes with Mangopay and Stripe Connect for marketplace-payment infrastructure. The company reports €10.5B of flows handled in 2024 across 19.1M transactions, 1.5M payment accounts, and 1,200 marketplace and platform clients across 15+ countries including SNCF Connect & Tech, Decathlon, Eiffage, and ArcelorMittal: a customer list that skews heavily toward large French enterprises and B2B marketplaces. Offices in Paris (HQ) and Hamburg with approximately 150 staff.

For an EU-sovereignty audit Lemonway is the cleanest marketplace-payments listing alongside its competitor Mangopay. The cap table is entirely European: €50M total raised, which Lemonway's own about page splits as a €10M Series A led by Breega Capital (Paris VC) with Speedinvest (Vienna VC) and a €40M Series B from Toscafund (UK asset manager), with no US private-equity or venture-capital involvement on record. The ACPR licence anchors the legal jurisdiction firmly in France with all the supervisory teeth of European banking law. A 2024 partnership with Société Générale to support large-corporate B2B marketplaces in Europe adds an EU-bank co-distribution channel. PCI-DSS certified; 99.9%+ API availability. The June 2025 acquisition of PayGreen's operations extended Lemonway from pure marketplace payments into broader e-commerce, and the PayGreen book has since taken it into restaurant, tourism and leisure e-commerce.

Pricing is enterprise / volume-negotiated and marketplace-specific; no public per-transaction tier applies, and starts_from_eur is left null. Best fit: EU marketplaces and B2B platforms requiring ACPR-licensed multi-party payment infrastructure with full EU jurisdiction and no US PE/VC involvement in the ownership chain: particularly French and DACH marketplaces. Two transparency gaps remain: the underlying hosting provider is not publicly disclosed on accessible pages (vendor outreach can confirm whether it's OVHcloud, Scaleway, or similar French infrastructure, typical for ACPR-licensed PIs), and the DPA is embedded in the general T&Cs rather than published as a standalone document.

Sub-processor map · not disclosed

Vendor does not publish a sub-processors list. Schrems II compliance and CLOUD Act exposure cannot be independently verified without it.

Frameworks & certifications · none listed

We checked the vendor's website and standard certification body registries. No active certifications found at the time of last audit (2026-08-26).

Capability matrix

Table 1Capabilities of Lemonway

Card payments Yes
SEPA Direct Debit Yes
Buy now, pay later Yes
Open banking (A2A) Yes
Recurring / subscriptions Yes
Payment links Yes
In-person / POS No
Marketplace / split Yes

Integration & access

REST API Yes
SSO (SAML / OIDC) Yes

Compliance & governance

Audit log Yes
Self-host / on-prem option No

Pricing & tiers

Custom pricing

Contact vendor for tier or volume pricing.

View pricing page

Public documents

Vendor does not publish a public DPA. Without a publicly accessible Data Processing Addendum, small EU customers cannot self-serve the processor agreement. This is recorded as no public DPA (see How we assess).
Vendor does not publish a sub-processors list. Schrems II compliance and CLOUD Act exposure cannot be independently verified without it.
  • Data Processing Addendum (DPA)
    — missing
    missing
  • Sub-processors list
    — missing
    missing
  • Terms of Service
    www.lemonway.com/en…
    Open

Alternatives in this category

  • Netherlands
    EU-Hosted
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: No
  • France
    EU-Hosted
    Public DPA: No Sub-processors: No Open source: No
  • Norway
    EU-Based
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: No