Skip to content

Klarna

Payments · Sweden
Founded 2005 · klarna.com

Stockholm-based Klarna Bank AB (Finansinspektionen-licensed Swedish bank): BNPL + checkout giant, 150M+ consumers, NYSE-listed since September 2025 under UK parent Klarna Group plc.

Klarna offers EU hosting in Sweden, but a US parent or sub-processor leaves material CLOUD Act exposure. It is listed under Payments.

Assessment notes

Klarna Bank AB (publ) (Stockholm, Sveavägen 46; Org. nr 556737-0431) holds a full Swedish Finansinspektionen banking licence since 2017 and processes for 200,000+ merchants across 17+ countries with 150M+ consumers, but the group is no longer privately held: the parent was redomiciled from Sweden to the United Kingdom as Klarna Group plc (England and Wales) and completed its IPO on the New York Stock Exchange on 10 September 2025 (ticker KLAR, priced at US$40). Sequoia Capital (US) remains the largest single shareholder at roughly 20-23%. The licensed bank entity and its Swedish supervision are unchanged, but the listing venue, the UK holding company and the US-VC anchor shareholder keep ownership_signal: eu_hq_us_funded and cloud_act_exposure: material; no public DPA or sub-processors list is accessible.

Findings

CLOUD Act
Ownership
Sub-processors
— not disclosed

Verified signals

Jurisdiction
  • EU / adequacy hosting: Yes
  • EU / adequacy operator: Yes
  • No US CLOUD Act exposure: No
Transparency
  • Public DPA: No
  • Sub-processors disclosed: No
  • Open-source clients: No
  • Third-party certification: No
Jump to

About Klarna

Klarna is the Stockholm-headquartered BNPL (buy-now-pay-later) and checkout giant operated by Klarna Bank AB (publ) (Sveavägen 46, 111 34 Stockholm; Org. nr 556737-0431). Founded in 2005, Klarna received a full Swedish banking licence from Finansinspektionen in June 2017, making it one of the few BNPL providers with bank-grade regulatory anchoring rather than just a payment-institution licence. The company partners with 200,000+ merchants across 17+ countries, serves 150M+ active consumers globally, and offers Pay-in-3 / Pay-Later / Pay-Now / Klarna One-time-card / Klarna Card products plus a Klarna Plus subscription tier.

For an EU-sovereignty audit Klarna is in the awkward middle ground: legally a Swedish bank under Finansinspektionen supervision (strong EU anchor) but with a cap table that is heavily US-VC-funded (Sequoia Capital, Silver Lake, and others alongside Bestseller and other Nordic backers) and a listing on a US exchange. The group completed its IPO on the New York Stock Exchange on 10 September 2025 under the ticker KLAR at US$40 a share, and the parent was redomiciled from Sweden to the United Kingdom as Klarna Group plc (England and Wales). Sequoia Capital (US) remains the largest single shareholder at roughly 20-23%. The licensed bank entity and its Finansinspektionen supervision are unchanged, but the US listing venue, the UK holding company and the US-VC anchor shareholder are what set the ownership signal: EU HQ, US-funded.

Pricing for merchants is bundled into transaction fees that vary by payment method and country (BNPL ranges roughly 2.99% to 4.99% + fixed components per the Adyen comparison reference); Klarna does not charge merchant monthly fees on standard plans and offers volume-negotiated enterprise contracts. Best fit: EU retailers and marketplaces needing strong BNPL / Pay-in-3 conversion lift, especially in DACH and Nordic markets where Klarna has the strongest consumer adoption. Procurement-grade EU-only buyers concerned about the US listing venue and the US-VC anchor shareholder should weigh Adyen (Euronext-listed Dutch credit institution) or Worldline (Euronext-listed French acquirer) instead.

Sub-processor map · not disclosed

Vendor does not publish a sub-processors list. Schrems II compliance and CLOUD Act exposure cannot be independently verified without it.

Frameworks & certifications · none listed

We checked the vendor's website and standard certification body registries. No active certifications found at the time of last audit (2026-08-26).

Capability matrix

Table 1Capabilities of Klarna

Card payments Yes
SEPA Direct Debit No
Buy now, pay later Yes
Open banking (A2A) Yes
Recurring / subscriptions Yes
Payment links Yes
In-person / POS Yes
Marketplace / split No

Integration & access

REST API Yes
SSO (SAML / OIDC) Yes

Compliance & governance

Audit log Yes
Self-host / on-prem option No

Pricing & tiers

from €0/mo
Paid
View pricing page

Public documents

Vendor does not publish a public DPA. Without a publicly accessible Data Processing Addendum, small EU customers cannot self-serve the processor agreement. This is recorded as no public DPA (see How we assess).
Vendor does not publish a sub-processors list. Schrems II compliance and CLOUD Act exposure cannot be independently verified without it.
  • Data Processing Addendum (DPA)
    — missing
    missing
  • Sub-processors list
    — missing
    missing
  • Terms of Service
    www.klarna.com/international…
    Open

Alternatives in this category

  • Netherlands
    EU-Hosted
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: No
  • France
    EU-Hosted
    Public DPA: No Sub-processors: No Open source: No
  • Norway
    EU-Based
    Public DPA: Yes Sub-processors: Yes Open source: No